Saturday, June 09, 2007

McCoy Tyner Trio - Bon Voyage

From AllMusic:
"Not one of McCoy Tyner's better known CDs, this trio session is nevertheless one worth acquiring. The thunderous title track is not even hampered much by Avery Sharpe's switch to electric bass, though the bassist is far superior on "Summertime" where he can show off his bowing skills in a waltz setting. Tyner is at his lyrical best on "Don't Blame Me," accompanied by Hayes' soft brushwork; though his formidable technique is incredible on his solo performance of "Yesterdays," foreshadowing his brilliant solo CDs that he would record for Blue Note in the immediate future....definitely one worth picking up."
Recorded 9 June 1987 in Studio 44, Monster, Holland

1. "Bon Voyage" - 10:27
2. "Summertime" (Gershwin, Gershwin, Heyward) - 6:11
3. "Don't Blame Me" (Fields, McHugh) - 4:31
4. "You Stepped Out of a Dream" (Brown, Kahn) - 8:51
5. "Walk Spirit, Talk Spirit (Listed incorrectly as as Jazz Walk)" - 7:41
6. "How Deep Is the Ocean?" (Berlin) - 7:12
7. "Yesterdays" (Harbach, Kern) - 4:57
8. "Blues for Max" - 4:39

McCoy Tyner Trio - Bon Voyage